Certified Artists

ThaWilsonBlock Magazine Issue50

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Designer Michael Ford highlights Hip Hop & Architecture

An instructor in architectural technology at Madison Area Technical College in Madison, Wisc., Ford brought his message here last week at the invitation of the local chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

He lectured at Rustbelt Reclamation, which makes furniture from recycled wood, and spent part of Friday urging students at John Hay High School's program in architecture and design to stick it out and become professionals.

"The students that I'm talking to are the people and the bodies and minds we need," Ford said. "They are needed, not just wanted."
An unbuilt, conceptual design of low income housing by Michael Ford.

Through his writing, teaching and national speaking, Ford aims to dissolve barriers that have discouraged black children from becoming architects, city planners and urban designers.

He has a book coming out soon on the need for diversity in the design professions, and the damage caused by modernist slab towers forced on minority neighborhoods after World War II that fostered crime and social isolation through design.

Monday, April 24, 2017

Pasadena rapper Nicky BeacHouses talks New Music, Hardships, and Lyrical Composition

Pasadena rapper Nicky BeacHouses talks New Music, Hardships, and Lyrical Composition

Mistah Wilson: Yo, BeachHouses! You already know! It's an honor to have you
here for this exclusive interview with ThaWilsonBlock Magazine. What's tha latest & greatest?

Nicky BeacHouses: It's an honor to be interviewed. All glory to God. I appreciate the opportunity to grace your platform. What's the latest and greatest you ask? Look out for that Black Ray Liotta, soon and very soon. It's already done.

Mistah Wilson: Real quick, let's talk life growing up in Pasadena. What was it like for you?
Nicky BeacHouses: To be real, I’m from everywhere man. I was actually born in Duarte, Ca, and spent a majority of my upbringing in Pasadena with a lot of stops in between. But, Pasadena is home for me. That's where I honed my craft and met all of my greatest influences and best friends. I never really understood how blessed I was to be living in such an affluent area with access to so many resources and diverse and dynamic people until I wasn’t living there anymore . lol

Stephon Marbury leaves the Chinese Basketball team that made him a Legend

Stephon Marbury and the Chinese Basketball Association team that made him a legend abroad are headed for a temporary separation after the two sides failed to come to terms on his playing future and the former NBA All-Star turned down an offer to coach the team, according to multiple reports.

Marbury would still like to play at least one more season in the CBA, but the Beijing Ducks — the team with which he won three championships in six seasons — is reportedly entering a rebuilding phase and unwilling to use one of its two foreign-born player spots on the 40-year-old, beloved as he is.

50 Historic Landmarks by African-American Architects

Los Angeles was home to arguably the most successful African-
About Paul Revere Williams
American architect of the 20th century: Paul 
Revere Williams. Born here in 1894, Williams designed thousands of buildings over his five-decade career, from landmarks like the LAX Theme Building, to glamorous homes for the city’s rich and famous, to civic projects and public housing. He was the first African-American to become a member of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), in 1923, and the first to become an AIA Fellow in 1957. In late 2016 (36 years after his death) he was awarded the AIA Gold Medal award, the institute’s highest honor for architectural achievement, becoming, once again, the first African-American to do so.

Sunday, April 23, 2017

EVENT: 28th Annual Bungalow Heaven Home Tour in Pasadena 4/30/17

28th Annual Bungalow Heaven Home Tour

Sunday April 30th, 2017 @ 10a to 4p 

Bungalow Heaven, Pasadena, California, United States

On Sunday, April 30, visitors can experience the beautiful historic neighborhood of Bungalow Heaven as they stroll through Pasadena’s first Landmark District. Bungalow Heaven is located north of the 210 Freeway, between Lake and Hill avenues. It is bordered on the north by Washington Blvd. and the south by Orange Grove Blvd. During the self-guided tour visitors will be invited to view the interiors of several homes with docent led commentaries. They will also be treated to demonstrations of restoration work, music, and refreshments. Food trucks will be on hand for those who wish to purchase lunch.

More information on the tour or on ordering tickets can be found online at www.bungalowheaven.org or by calling (626) 585-2172. Tickets are $25 per person if purchased in advance or $30 on the day of the tour. In addition the Bungalow Heaven trolley will again offer 45-minute narrated bus tours of Landmark District architecture for $10 per person. Tickets, maps and an informational tour brochure, will be available at McDonald Park at the intersection of Mar Vista Avenue and Mountain Street.

Follow by Email

Search This Blog